The Superior Electoral Court (TSE), the highest structure within the Electoral Justice system, plays a fundamental role in the construction and employment of Brazilian democracy. Its main powers are established by the Federal Constitution and the Electoral Code (Law No. 4,737, July 15,1965).

The TSE works together with the Regional Electoral Courts (TREs), which are directly responsible for overseeing the electoral process in the states and municipalities.

The Court is composed of seven ministers: three are from the Supreme Court, two from the Superior Court of Justice, and two are representatives from the legal profession – lawyers with remarkable legal knowledge and competence.

Each minister is elected for a biennium, with reelection disallowed after two consecutive bienniums. The rotation of judges within the Electoral Court aims to maintain the apolitical nature of the courts in order to ensure equality in elections.

The TSE is chaired by a minister from the Federal Supreme Court (STF). Currently, President is Justice Alexandre de Moraes. The vice president is Justice Carmen Lucia Antunes Rocha.

The Internal Affairs Division of the Electoral Justice is exercised by one of the ministers of the Superior Court of Justice (STJ). It is currently occupied by Justice Benedito Gonçalves.

Linked to the Presidency of the Court are the General Secretariat of the Presidency - which encompasses the Judiciary Secretariat, the Ombudsman, and eight advisors - and the Secretariat of the Court - which has three advisors and seven secretariats.

There is also the Electoral Judiciary School, whose objective is to carry out the training, updating and continuous or eventual specialization of Electoral Justice magistrates and those interested in Electoral Law, who are appointed by public bodies and public and private entities.

Learn more about the current and former headquarters of the TSE (in Portuguese)